If you don’t know already, the seven Chakras are the energy centres in our body, where energy comes together and flows.

Often, these energy centres become blocked. And blocked energy in our Chakras can lead to illness.

If we know what each Chakra represents, we can be more mindful to keeping them open, and, therefore, helping the energy flow freely.

7chakra 300x173 The 7 Chakras (and why you should know them)

The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra represents our foundation and the sensation of being grounded. It is located at the base of the spine in the tailbone area. The Root Chakra is connected to personal survival matters, such as finances, food, shelter.

To heal the Root Chakra, use yoga postures, such as Bridge Pose and Wheel, to open the lower spine. Take a moment in mountain or tree to become grounded. Munch on red coloured foods, such as beets, hot spices, and vegetables from the ground (like potatoes).

The Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra represents our ability to connect with others and accept new experiences.It is located at the lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel. The Sacral Chakra is connected to pleasure, sexuality, and well being.

To heal the Sacral Chakra, use yoga postures such as pelvic tilting and cobra. Snack on orange coloured foods, such as oranges, along with nuts.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra represents our ability to be confident and in control of our lives and our selves. It is located in the upper abdomen, around the stomach. It is connected to self-confidence and self-esteem.

To heal the Solar Plexus Chakra, try the yoga posture Boat pose, along with yellow foods such as corn, plenty of grains, and good tea.

The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra represents our ability to love. It is located in the centre of the chest, just above the heart. It is connected to love, joy, and inner piece.

To heal the Heart Chakra, try Bikram yoga and emoting love to others. Try green foods, such as leafy greens, broccoli and green beans, as well as green tea.

The Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra represents our ability to communicate with ourselves and others. It is located in the throat. It is connected to self-expression and the truth.

To heal the Throat Chakra, sing, chant and vocalize. Inverted postures also help. All kinds of fruit also benefit this chakra.

The Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye Chakra represents our ability to focus on the big picture. It is located on the forehead between the eyes. It is connected to our imagination, wisdom, and ability to think and make decisions.

To heal the Third Eye Chakra, opt for foward bends, as well as child’s pose. Enjoy purple fruits and vegetables, such as eggplant and grapes, along with lavender scents and flavours.

The Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually. It is located at the very top of the head. It is connected to inner beauty, outer beauty, and our connection to pure happiness and bliss.

To heal the Crown Chakra, try meditation and clearing your head through cardiovascular exercise. Clean air, sunshine, and a sense of calmness help.

Image courtesy of krsnahealing.com